UC San Diego School of Medicine, Continuing Medical Education
(858) 534-3940 | ocme@ucsd.edu | cme.ucsd.edu

YIF Program

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 – 14th Annual Nephrology Young Investigators Forum
Meeting Location: La Jolla Ballroom (Salon A-B) – San Diego Marriott La Jolla
8:00 am – 8:45 am Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:45 am – 9:00 am Overview – Stuart Linas, MD
9:00 am – 9:15 am How Much is a Kidney Worth? Comparing Kidney Transplant Strategies in Liver Transplant Candidates Using a Decision-Analytic Model – Xingxing Shelley Cheng, MD
9:15 am – 9:30 am The Role of FcRn in the Expression of MHC II and Trafficking of Antibody-Antigen Complexes to Lysosomes in Glomerular Endothelial Cells – James Dylewski
9:30 am – 9:45 am Relationship of Femoral Artery Ultrasound Measures of Atherosclerosis with Chronic Kidney Disease – Simon Hsu, MD, MS
9:45 am – 10:00 am Utility of Concomitant Biopsy Performed among Simultaneous Pancreas Kidney Transplant Recipients in the Identification of Rejection of  Pancreas and Kidney – Caroline Johnson, MD
10:00 am – 10:15 am Intra-Individual Change in Blood Pressure in Response to Sodium Intake in Chronic Kidney Disease – Chetna M. Pathak
10:15 am – 10:30 am Break
10:30 am – 10:45 am The Assessment of Risk Approaching to ESRD: Discordance Between Patients’, Physicians’ Perceptions, and Standardized Risk Scores – Hoang Anh Nguyen, MD, MPH
10:45 am – 11:00 am Receipt of Nephrology Care and Clinical Outcomes among Veterans with Advanced Chronic Kidney Disease – Enrica Mang Ka Fung, MD, MPH
11:00 am – 11:15 am Effect of Treatment of Metabolic Acidosis on Fibroblast Growth Factor-23 in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease: A Pilot Study – Pratik Shah, MD
11:15 am – 11:30 am Association of Antihypertensive Medications with Arteriovenous Fistula Maturation: the Hemodialysis Fistula Maturation (HFM) Study – Ke Wang, MD
11:30 am – 12:30 pm Lunch
12:30 pm – 12:45 pm SGLT2 Inhibition Increases Renal Uric Acid Excretion: Evidence from Mice Lacking SGLT2 and Potentiation in the Absence of SGLT1 – Sasha Novikov, MD
12:45 pm – 1:00 pm Secretory Function in Acute Kidney Injury – Frank O’Brien, MD
1:00 pm – 1:15 pm Conversion to Full dose Cyclosporine (CSA) Reverses Rampant BK Viremia that is Refractory to Tacrolimus Minimization – Rodrigo Caero Romero, MD
1:15 pm – 1:30 pm Comparison of Baseline Peritoneal Membrane Function between Progressive CKD and Non-Uremic Rat Models – Pei Zhang
1:30 pm – 1:45 pm Belatacept Conversion in Kidney Recipients with Low GFR Doesn’t Improve Renal Function – Dina Abdelwahab, MD
1:45 pm – 2:00 pm Renal Blood Flow and Oxygen Consumption in the Early Phase of Sepsis-Induced AKI – Alexander Bullen, MD
2:00 pm

Break & Judges Deliberation

5:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Awards Presentation and Closing Remarks – Stuart Linas, MD

Young Investigators Forum Judges

Kovesdy Csaba P. Kovesdy, MD, FASN
The Fred Hatch Professor of Medicine in Nephrology
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, Tennessee

LinasStuart Linas, MD
Professor of Medicine University of Colorado School of Medicine
University of Colorado Hospital
Chief, Nephrology Denver Health
Aurora, Colorado
ThomsonScott Thomson, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
UC San Diego
La Jolla, California
Wall Barry M. Wall, MD
Professor of Medicine in Nephrology
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Associate Chief, Nephrology Section
Veterans Affairs Medical Center
Memphis, Tennessee

YIF Accreditation

The University of California, San Diego School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

AMA: The University of California, San Diego School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 3.75 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Disclosure: It is the policy of the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine to ensure balance, independence, objectivity and scientific rigor. All persons involved in the selection, development and presentation of content are required to disclose any real or apparent conflicts of interest. All conflicts of interest will be resolved prior to an educational activity being delivered to learners through one of the following mechanisms: 1) altering the financial relationship with the commercial interest, 2) altering the individual’s control over CME content about the products or services of the commercial interest, and/or 3) validating the activity content through independent peer review. All persons are also required to disclose any discussions of off label/unapproved uses of drugs or devices. Persons who refuse or fail to disclose will be disqualified from participating in the CME activity.

Cultural and Linguistic Competency: This activity is in compliance with California Assembly Bill 1195 which requires continuing medical education activities with patient care components to include curriculum in the subjects of cultural and linguistic competency. Cultural competency is defined as a set of integrated attitudes, knowledge, and skills that enables health care professionals or organizations to care effectively for patients from diverse cultures, groups, and communities. Linguistic competency is defined as the ability of a physician or surgeon to provide patients who do not speak English or who have limited ability to speak English, direct communication in the patient’s primary language. Cultural and linguistic competency was incorporated into the planning of this activity. Additional resources can be found on the UC San Diego CME website.


Follow UC San Diego CME on    UCSD CME facebook    UCSD CME twitter

UC San Diego School of Medicine, Continuing Medical Education   •  9500 Gilman Drive, MC0947   •  La Jolla, CA 92093-0947
Phone: (858) 534-3940   •   Toll-Free: (888) 229-6263   •   Fax: (858) 534-1896   •  E-mail: ocme@ucsd.edu   •  Website: cme.ucsd.edu

Content is subject to change without notice. Please refer to the activity website for the most current information.
Official website of the University of California, San Diego. Copyright ©2017 Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.